

PSD debaters cop Runner-up Award in QPSDL Grand Finals

By: Ethan Nepomuceno, Laurence Villanueva, and Aaron Nepomuceno

Philippine School Doha's **Team LAA** surpassed 46 participating teams in 15 rounds and finished as Open Grand Final Runner-up after succumbing to Birla Public School, who emerged as the Open Grand Final Champions of this year's QatarDebate Grand Finals held at Awsaj Academy in Education City on May 18.

In addition to Team LAA's achievement, **Ethan Nepomuceno** of Team ETN was also awarded Rank 10 of the Open Best Speakers with an average of 70.75 speaker points in the Qatar Preparatory Schools Debate League (QPSDL).

Moreover, Philippine School Doha (Team Proposition) and Birla Public School (Team Opposition) debated the motion about a young athlete's desire to join a top-tier team versus a mid-tier team.

Prior to the Grand Finals, Team LAA was announced as a finalist after winning three consecutive rounds against other schools in the National Championship Rounds on May 13. On the same day, Team CAD of the Qatar Secondary Debate League (QSDL) Girls capped their debate stint after reaching the semifinals.

Laurence Villanueva, the second speaker of Team LAA, expressed his gratitude to the coaches who devoted their time and guidance to the team throughout their debate journey.

"As first-time debaters, we are grateful for the help and support of our coaches, Ms. Sherilyn D. Apruebo, Mr. Elmerson L. Barañao, and Mr. Dave B. Buragay, who have been our guiding lights in improving and developing our debate skills. We will continue to strive for the best so that we will come back stronger and better for next year's tournament."

The members of both the QPSDL and QSDL Teams are shown below:

Qatar Preparatory Schools Debate League Teams Boys

Team ETN	
Timothy Jeremiah J. Rivera	First Speaker
Ethan Joel P. Nepomuceno	Second Speaker
Nathaniel Angelo B. Ruiz	Third Speaker

Team LAA	
Alijah Gabrielle B. Abrenica	First Speaker
Laurence Jean T. Villanueva	Second Speaker
Aaron Joel P. Nepomuceno	Third Speaker

Girls

Team UJC

Unica Raija A. De Vera	First Speaker
Julianne Kristine T. Laudit	Second Speaker
Crisha Allyson D. Fajardo	Third Speaker

Team TPY	
Trisha Ishee V. Bonifacio	First Speaker
Precious Jeinah D. Bergado	Second Speaker
Yochabel A. Reynes	Third Speaker

Qatar Secondary Debate League Teams

Boys

Team YAV	
Yosef Blaine E. Magpantay	First Speaker
Juan Andres O. Viloria	Second Speaker
Juan Viktor O. Viloria	Third Speaker

Girls

Team CAD	
Fealyn Therese M. Custodio	First Speaker
Harfein M. Ameril	Second Speaker
Angel Hya S. David	Third Speaker





